CHS Holds Student Council Elections


Senior Representative Sydney Brooks gives her campaign speech.

Journalism I

CHS students elected student council officers on September 18 by voting in English classes after candidate speech videos were shown.  

Winners are the following:  Gage Martindale, president; Laney Kellybrew, vice president; Abigail Drennan, secretary; Sydney Brooks, senior representative; Susannah DeBlack, junior representative; and Alli Bell, sophomore representative.  

Student council elections are held each year to establish a group of student leaders who help to coordinate activities and events.  “[Elections are] a great time to see kids putting themselves out there and pushing themselves, as well as seeing students use their voice to cast their votes to help determine who will lead the school for that school year,” said Student Council co-sponsor Candace Wilson.